Book Review: Don't Try to Find Me by: Holly Brown

Publisher: William Morrow & Company

Publication Date: April 7, 2015

Origins:  From Publisher for Review

Synopsis: When a fourteen-year-old runs away, her parents turn to social media to find her--launching a public campaign that will expose their darkest secrets and change their family forever, in this suspenseful and gripping debut for fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Gone Girl.

Don't try to find me. Though the message on the kitchen white board is written in Marley's hand, her mother Rachel knows there has to be some other explanation. Marley would never run away.

As the days pass and it sinks in that the impossible has occurred, Rachel and her husband Paul are informed that the police have "limited resources." If they want their fourteen-year-old daughter back, they will have to find her themselves. Desperation becomes determination when Paul turns to Facebook and Twitter, and launches

But Marley isn't the only one with secrets.

With public exposure comes scrutiny, and when Rachel blows a television interview, the dirty speculation begins. Now, the blogosphere is convinced Rachel is hiding something. It's not what they think; Rachel would never hurt Marley. Not intentionally, anyway. But when it's discovered that she's lied, even to the police, the devoted mother becomes a suspect in Marley's disappearance.

Is Marley out there somewhere, watching it all happen, or is the truth something far worse?

Review: In DON’T TRY TO FIND ME, 14 year old Marley runs away from home leaving her parents devastated. Once Marley’s parents, Rachel and Paul, have determined the police can only help so much they realized they’ll have to find her themselves. Paul decides to make a media circus with social media and a website, but what he doesn’t know is Marley isn’t the only member of their family who has some important secrets to hide. Since moving to a new and smaller town, Marley hasn’t made many new friends and has done almost all she can to alienate her old friends. A new online friend she has made seems like the only person who truly understands her. DON’T TRY TO FIND ME is a dramatic multi-faceted novel where the narrators are both Marley and her mother. Not all of the characters are very likable, but DON’T TRY TO FIND ME is very intense and will capture your attention.

Author Links:

Email Star! Follow Star on Twitter! Subscribe to feed. Like us on Facebook! Get LinkedIn with us!


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...