Book Review: Misdirection by: Austin Williams


Publisher: Diversion Books

Publication Date: June 24, 2014

Origins:  From Author for Review

Synopsis: A street magician needs more than sleight-of-hand to survive getting embroiled in a murder case in this blistering novel of suspense, perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and George Pelecanos.

After years of chasing fame and hedonistic excess in the bright lights of Las Vegas, Rusty “The Raven” Diamond has returned home to Ocean City to piece his life back together. When he finds himself an innocent suspect in his landlord’s brutal murder, Rusty abandons all hope of maintaining a tranquil existence. Acting on impulse, he digs into the investigation just enough to anger both the police and a local drug cartel.

As the unsolved case grows more complex, claiming new victims and inciting widespread panic, Rusty feels galvanized by the adrenaline he’s been missing for too long. But his newfound excitement threatens to become an addiction, leading him headfirst into an underworld he’s been desperately trying to escape.

Austin Williams creates an unforgettable protagonist in Rusty, a flawed but relatable master of illusion in very real danger. As the suspense builds to an explosively orchestrated climax, Williams paints a riveting portrait of both a city—and a man—on the edge.

Series: The Rusty Diamond Trilogy

Review: MISDIRECTION features Rusty Diamond, a washed-up Las Vegas stage magician, who has come home to Ocean Pines, Maryland –right outside Ocean City. He’s trying to put his life back together when he discovers his landlady dead. At first, Rusty’s a person of interest, but an old friend on the force knows Rusty’s not the killer. Even with a warning not to get involved, Rusty throws himself headlong into the investigation. This is the adrenaline push Rusty needed, but the stakes quickly become high as more people fall victim. MISDIRECTION takes readers into the seamy underbelly of Ocean City and the surrounding areas as Rusty willingly lets himself get dragged into the crosshairs of the local cops and drug dealers. Rusty is a likable guy who wants to help solve the mystery of his landlady’s murder because he was genuinely fond of her. The stage magic aspects were an interesting twist to the story. I am looking forward to where the author will take Rusty next! MISDIRECTION was a unique mystery with a main character readers can empathize with and root for.

Find the Author:
Website
Goodreads


Email Star! Follow Star on Twitter! Subscribe to feed. Like us on Facebook! Get LinkedIn with us!

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...