Book Review: Dear Daughter by: Elizabeth Little

Publisher: Viking Adult

Publication Date: July 31, 2014

Origins:  From Publisher for Review

Synopsis: As soon as they processed my release Noah and I hit the ground running. A change of clothes. A wig. An inconspicuous sedan. We doubled back once, twice, then drove south when we were really headed east. In San Francisco we had a girl who looked like me board a plane to Hawaii.

Oh, I thought I was so clever.

But you probably already know that I'm not.

LA IT girl Janie Jenkins has it all. The looks, the brains, the connections. The criminal record.

Ten years ago, in a trial that transfixed America, Janie was convicted of murdering her mother. Now she's been released on a technicality she's determined to unravel the mystery of her mother's last words, words that send her to a tiny town in the very back of beyond. But with the whole of America's media on her tail, convinced she's literally got away with murder, she has to do everything she can to throw her pursuers off the scent.

She knows she really didn't like her mother. Could she have killed her?

Review: Janie Jenkins was the latest LA It Girl to fall from the glittering heights when she was convicted of murdering her mother. Ten years later, she’s released on a technicality from when her trial was held. Now she’s on the trail which was started from her mother’s last words and which Janie hopes will lead her to the truth. Because she didn’t kill her mother, did she? DEAR DAUGHTER is written through prose, articles, and blog posts. Janie’s voice is spot-on and it was interesting to see her character grow while uncovering her mother’s past, yet maintaining her snarkiness and own brand of self. Especially with as hungry as the populace seems to be for hints of fame and the rollercoaster ride lives of celebrities and so-called celebrities, DEAR DAUGHTER fits right into this culture. There is a secondary world Jane enters – Ardelle and Adeline, South Dakota. These small-towns and the seemingly small-minded people who populate them just may hold the secrets Janie needs to discover who her mother truly was before and how she became the woman Janie knew. DEAR DAUGHTER will definitely appeal to readers who like Gillian Flynn or Marisha Pessl.

Find the Author:

Email Star! Follow Star on Twitter! Subscribe to feed. Like us on Facebook! Get LinkedIn with us!

1 comment:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...