Book Review: The Bone Seeker by: M.J. McGrath

Rating: 3/5

Publisher: Viking Adult

Publication Date: July 24, 2014

Origins:  From Publisher for Review

Synopsis: The intrepid Edie Kiglatuk discovers one of her female students dead in a toxic lake in her third arctic mystery

In the third novel in this highly praised mystery series that will appeal to fans of The Killing, Top of the Lake, and The Bridge, Edie Kiglatuk works as a summer school teacher in the Canadian arctic. When one of her female students is found dead in nearby Lake Turngaluk, Edie enlists the help of Sergeant Derek Palliser to pursue the case, promising the girl’s Inuit family that they will uncover the truth. Meanwhile, lawyer Sonia Gutierrez investigates the toxicity of the lake and suspects that there might be a larger conspiracy involved. As the three clamber over rocky terrain under twenty-four-hour daylight they start to unearth secrets long frozen over—risking their own lives in the process. With stunning prose, M. J. McGrath delivers another thrill ride through a hauntingly beautiful landscape.

Series: Edie Kiglatuk Mystery Series

Review: Edie Kiglatuk is currently working as a summer school teacher in Kuujuaq (up in the Canadian Arctic) when one of her students goes missing. Martha Salliaq is found dead in the taboo Lake Turngaluk (the Lake of Bad Spirits) nearby and Edie is convinced it is a homicide. Convincing Sgt. Derek Palliser to investigate, Edie is determined to find out what really happened to Martha. Meanwhile Martha’s father, Charlie, is positive it was an outsider from the military base close to the village who killed her. However, there are more players in this deadly cat-and-mouse game than Edie is initially aware and one of them just may kill again to keep long-buried secrets from being uncovered.

THE BONE SEEKER is the first Edie Kiglatuk mystery I’ve read and I felt it stood very well on its own. With the stark landscape setting a chilling atmosphere, it almost becomes its own character. The story was very well-research, the plot developed nicely, and the characters are complex and strongly developed. THE BONE SEEKER taps in to cultural biases, age-old atrocities, and the price each generation pays for the sins of their fathers. Gritty and visceral, THE BONE SEEKER will take you on a fascinating ride through the Canadian Arctic and her people.

Find the Author:

Email Star! Follow Star on Twitter! Subscribe to feed. Like us on Facebook! Get LinkedIn with us!

1 comment:

  1. I've not read this author. Thanks for the review.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...