Book Review: Starter House by: Sonja Condit


Rating: 2/5

Publisher: William Morrow & Company

Publication Date: December 31, 2013

Origins:  From Publisher for Review

Book Links:  Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: In the vein of Heart-Shaped Box and The Thirteenth Tale, Starter House is a haunting and skillfully told debut novel about a newlywed couple and their first home-a home that seems to be haunted by a very malicious ghost.

Lacey Miszlak grew up homeless; her crazy mother dragged her from one terrible living situation to the next. But now she thinks the pieces of her life have finally come together. She's pregnant with her first child and she and her husband Eric have moved into the home of their dreams. She knows soon its beautiful sunlit rooms will be filled with the joy of the new family she will build there.

But there's a strange darkness on the stairway and an odd little boy who won't leave Lacey alone and soon she's forced to realize that a danger she never suspected is lurking in the hallways of her beautiful new home. She's going to have to solve a decades-old mystery to save her family from an evil that has lingered in wait for them for years.

Review: Lacey and Eric Miszlak are expecting their first child and Lacey has found the house of her dreams. Yet there is something strange about their new home that only Lacey seems to sense. Eric is too busy trying to make money to give credence to Lacey’s fears. There is a little boy who keeps showing up in Lacey’s home, but she’s the only one who sees him. What is haunting Lacey’s house and how can she find out what he wants before it is too late?

STARTER HOUSE has the feel of an old gothic mystery novel, with a dark presence in the house and the people surrounding Lacey knowing much more than they let on. I enjoyed the mystery, but I wasn’t a fan of the characters. Lacey was too mealy and wishy-washy, Eric was self-absorbed, and the neighbors who should have warned Lacey were out to save their own skin. The only one I did really like was Lacey's mother, the new age hippie type. I did finish STARTER HOUSE just because I wanted to see how it all turned out.

Find the Author:
Goodreads


Email Star! Follow Star on Twitter! Subscribe to feed. Like us on Facebook! Get LinkedIn with us!

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...