Book Review: The Shadow of the Soul by: Sarah Pinborough

Rating: 5/5

Publisher: Ace Trade

Publication Date: August 6, 2013

Origins:  From Publisher for Review

Format:  Trade Paperback

Order Links:  Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: A devastating terrorist attack has crippled London. To find a perpetrator who is more than human, Special Branch turns to Detective Inspector Cass Jones.

Cass is already investigating a series of student suicides, but saying no to Special Branch isn’t an option—even when he’s hit with a much more personal and deeply disturbing mystery: a message left for him by his murdered brother revealing that Cass’s nephew was stolen at birth.

Cass’s investigations and his search for the boy lead him down a dark labyrinth to the shadowy Mr. Bright and his otherworldly allies—and into the middle of an ancient and deadly feud, with no less than the fate of humanity hanging in the balance….

Review: ‘The Shadow of the Soul’ is the second of The Forgotten Gods trilogy, coming after ‘A Matter of Blood’. The author sucks readers quickly back into the world of DI Cass Jones. There have been terrorist attacks on London’s Underground which crippled the city even worse than the growing poverty and crime rates. Jones is “invited” to assist Special Branch (kind of like the FBI) to catch the perpetrators. Jones agrees, as long as it doesn’t interfere with his ongoing investigation into apparent suicides all linked by one phrase, “Chaos in the Darkness”. Meanwhile, Jones has been given information telling him the boy he knew as his nephew really isn’t. So he’s got three investigations going on at once and The Network is in it up to their eyeballs. This is the first real in-depth look we’re given into the inner workings of The Network and the entities which run it. We got tastes of what was going on behind the scenes in ‘A Matter of Blood’. ‘The Shadow of the Soul’ is a gritty dark blend of mystery and metaphysics. I absolutely love the world Ms. Pinborough has created and the flawed DI Jones. Now we’re getting deeper into the world behind the everyday world and it’s utterly fascinating. Jones doesn’t always understand why he keeps going on, but he does so, and even with his stumbles makes a good showing for his efforts. ‘The Shadow of the Soul’ is a twisted tale as the all the threads come together in a chilling conclusion. I cannot wait for the third book!!!

The Forgotten Gods series: A Matter of Blood (1), The Shadow of the Soul (2), The Chosen Seed (3)

Find the Author:

Email Star! Follow Star on Twitter! Subscribe to feed. Like us on Facebook! Get LinkedIn with us!


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...