Book Review: Of Shadow Born by: Dianne Sylvan

Rating: 4/5

Publisher: Ace

Publish Date: March 26, 2013

Origins:  From Publisher for Review

Format:  Mass Market Paperback

Order Links:  Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: Spread throughout the dark corners of our world lies the Shadow World, a society of vampires who feed off the living. In Austin, Texas, one woman must rise from the ashes of tragedy and confront an ancient evil before it destroys everything she holds dear…

After a heartrending night of loss and blood, Miranda Grey-Solomon, vampire Queen of the South, now stands in the ruins of her life determined to pick up the pieces and move on. David, her husband and Prime, is missing and presumed dead, and Miranda is lost without her soul mate by her side…But she has little time to grieve as enemies both old and new emerge to test her yet again.

Between vampires trying to take advantage of a Queen without a Prime, incursions by a mysterious organization of humans calling themselves the Order of the Morningstar, and the continuing threat from those within the Shadow World who have already tried to destroy her, Miranda and her allies are running out of places to turn. In order to save her territory and the ones she loves, Miranda must look to the ancient past, to the first days of the vampire race, and uncover secrets about the Signets that could change the course of history…

Review: Miranda Grey Solomon has had her world ripped out from under her with the disappearance and sundering of her link with her Prime and husband, David Solomon, as well as the death of others from her territory. She was able to come back to reality only with the help of two witches, Stella and Lark. Now there are threats coming from every side – humans and other members of the Shadow World. Can Miranda find her way without David and defend her vulnerable territory?

Note: You will enjoy ‘Of Shadow Born’ more if you have already read the first three books in this series.

There is only so much I can say in my review because I don’t want to give away anything. ‘Of Shadow Born’ resolves the huge cliff-hanger at the end of ‘Shadow’s Fall’ and introduces a new problem for the Southern Territory. There is the return of a secret society, Order of the Morningstar, Goddesses, and more in depth information about the origin of vampires. There are also reconciliations, betrayals, and surprises for everyone. ‘Of Shadow Born’ is a very busy and complicated novel, but intriguing and captivating. I am looking forward to seeing what is in store next for the Shadow World.

Shadow World series: Queen of Shadows (1), Shadowflame (2), Shadow's Fall (3), Of Shadow Born (4)


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...