Book Review: The Rose Throne by: Mette Ivie Harrison


Rating: 4/5

Publisher: EgmontUSA

Publish Date: May 14, 2013

Origins:  From Publisher for Review

Format:  Hardcover

Order Links:  Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: Richly-imagined fantasy romance from the author of Princess and the Hound, a tale of two princesses--one with magic, one with none--who dare seek love in a world where real choice can never be theirs. For fans of Megan Whalen Turner, Catherine Fisher, and Cassandra Clare.

Ailsbet loves nothing more than music; tall and red-haired, she's impatient with the artifice and ceremony of her father's court. Marissa adores the world of her island home and feels she has much to offer when she finally inherits the throne from her wise, good-tempered father. The trouble is that neither princess has the power--or the magic--to rule alone, and if the kingdoms can be united, which princess will end up ruling the joint land? For both, the only goal would seem to be a strategic marriage to a man who can bring his own brand of power to the throne. But will either girl be able to marry for love? And can either of these two princesses, rivals though they have never met, afford to let the other live?


Review: ‘The Rose Throne’ is a tale of love, duty, honor, and power. Princesses Ailsbet and Marissa are pawns in a power struggle and are perhaps players in an ancient prophecy. In their positions, they are unable to live their lives by their own choices or follow their hearts – or can they?

Ms. Harrison has brought to life the complex world easily and brilliantly through the descriptions and the characters. It was intriguing to see the powers the people held (neweyr and taweyr) and how they became split apart. I was most interested in the ekhono – the people who wielded the traditional power of their opposite gender instead of their own gender. I would have loved to learn more about them and perhaps we will if the story is continued in another volume. ‘The Rose Throne’ is a story which I think people who like historical-type fiction with a twist will really enjoy.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...