Book Review: Mark of the Witch by: Maggie Shayne

Rating: 5/5

Publisher: Harlequin MIRA

Publish Date: September 18, 2012

Origins: From Publisher for Review

Format: Mass Market Paperback

Order From:  Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: From New York Times bestselling author Maggie Shayne comes the first novel in her thrilling new trilogy, THE PORTAL 

She was born to save what he is sworn to destroy…

A lapsed Wiccan, Indira Simon doesn’t believe in magic anymore.  But when strange dreams of being sacrificed to an ancient Babylonian god have her waking up with real rope burns on her wrists, she’s forced to acknowledge that she may have been too hasty in her rejection of the unknown.  Then she meets mysterious and handsome Father Tomas. Emerging from the secrecy of an obscure Gnostic sect, he arrives with stories of a demon, a trio of warrior witches–and Indira’s sacred calling.

Yet there’s something even Tomas doesn’t know, an inescapable truth that will force him to choose between saving the life of the woman he’s come to love–and saving the world.

Review: Maggie Shayne has written another spellbinding story of magic and destiny in the first book of the Portal Series, ‘Mark of the Witch’. In this lifetime Indira Simon was a Wiccan, whose faith in magic and the gods has lapsed. Yet lately her dreams are filled with terror and death, which is carried over into the waking world when she exhibits signs of torture on her body. Are these dreams…or memories of an ancient lifetime she lived before? On the way to work one day, she meets Father Tomas, but this is no accident. He has come in search of her and her sister witches from her previous life to persuade them to lock a demon away forever. Is this truly her fate…or was she meant to fulfill a different destiny?

‘Mark of the Witch’ is a wonderfully creative and captivating novel. I’ve always enjoyed Ms. Shayne’s stories and ‘Mark of the Witch’ does not disappoint in the least. The story has a great setting, complex and conflicted characters, plus a rich plot fraught with emotion and action. Containing past lives, witchcraft, rogue priests, romance, danger, and a centuries old secret, ‘Mark of the Witch’ has it all! I was also intrigued to see a story about a lapsed Wiccan, because it shows we can all go through a crisis of faith - no matter the faith. I am so glad to see another witch series from Ms. Shayne (the last ones I read was the 'Immortals' series) and now I am eagerly awaiting the second book!

The Portal Series: Legacy of the Witch (prequel novella), Mark of the Witch (1), Daughter of The Spellcaster (2), Blood of the Sorceress (3)


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...