Book Review: The Fallen Queen by Jane Kindred

Rating: 5/5

Publisher: Entangled Publishing, LLC

Publish Date: December 6, 2011

Origins: From Author for Review

Format: E-book

Order From:  Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: Heaven can go to hell.

Until her cousin slaughtered the supernal family, Anazakia’s father ruled the Heavens, governing noble Host and Fallen peasants alike. Now Anazakia is the last grand duchess of the House of Arkhangel’sk, and all she wants is to stay alive.

Hunted by Seraph assassins, Anazakia flees Heaven with two Fallen thieves—fire demon Vasily and air demon Belphagor, each with their own nefarious agenda—who hide her in the world of Man. The line between vice and virtue soon blurs, and when Belphagor is imprisoned, the unexpected passion of Vasily warms her through the Russian winter.

Heaven seems a distant dream, but when Anazakia learns the truth behind the celestial coup, she will have to return to fight for the throne—even if it means saving the man who murdered everyone she loved.

Review: Growing up, Anazakia of the House of Arkhangel'sk didn't have much to worry about except new clothes, horses, and playing with her sisters and brother. She also liked to sneak out to the Fallen city to gamble while a shade created via magic took her place at the 'boring' social events. The one night everything changed and her world was violently turned upside down. Her family (and her shade) brutally murdered by someone close to home. Given a large sum of money to hide and protect her, the demons Belphagor and Vasily (who have their own complicated relationship) take her to the world of Man. Of course, nothing seems to go according to plan - with many strange surprises along the way - and Nazkia must fight her way back to Heaven to reclaim what is rightfully hers.

Ms. Kindred has created an unusual and entrancing world of the Host (angels), Fallen (demons), and Man. With an eerie similarity to the Romanov family, The Fallen Queen is a well-rounded and intricately built world where order and chaos walk a fine line. The characters are multi-layered and complex and you are able to feel a connection from the first few pages. Gritty underneath the fine polish of Heaven, The Fallen Queen will make you long to read the next books in the series to discover what happens to everyone you've come to know intimately...

The House of Arkhangel'sk Series: The Fallen Queen (1), The Midnight Court (2), The Armies of Heaven (3)


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...