Series Review: The Iron Druid Chronicles by: Kevin Hearne

Rating: 5/5

Publisher: Del Ray

Publish Date: May 3, 2011 (Hounded); June 7, 2011 (Hexed); July 5, 2011 (Hammered)

Origins: Purchased

Format: Mass Market Paperback

Order From:  Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: HOUNDED:  Atticus O’Sullivan, last of the Druids, lives peacefully in Tempe, Arizona, running an occult bookshop and shape-shifting in his spare time. A handsome, tattooed Irish dude, he looks like he’s about twenty-one years old—actually, he’s twenty-one centuries old and he wields a magical sword known as Fragarach, the Answerer. Unfortunately, a very angry Celtic god wants that sword, and now Atticus will need all his power—plus the help of a seductive goddess of death, his vampire and werewolf team of attorneys, and a sexy bartender possessed by a Hindu witch—to kick some Celtic arse and deliver himself from evil.

: Atticus doesn’t care much for witches, but he’s about to make nice with the local coven when suddenly the witch population in Tempe quadruples overnight. And the new girls are not just bad, they’re badasses with a dark history on the German side of World War II. But with a fallen angel feasting on local students, a horde of Bacchants blowing in from Vegas, and a dangerously sexy Celtic goddess of fire vying for his attention, Atticus is having trouble scheduling the witch hunt.

HAMMERED: Thor, the Norse god of thunder, is a blowhard and a bully, and Viking vampire Leif Helgarson has asked his friend Atticus for help taking down this Norse nightmare. As a rule, Atticus generally tries to stay away from the guy with the lightning bolts. Soon, though, Atticus and Leif are off to the plane of Asgard, where they team up with a werewolf, a sorcerer, and an army of frost giants for an epic showdown against vicious Valkyries, angry gods, and the hammer-wielding Thunder Thug himself.

Review: I absolutely love this series!! The characters and world that Mr. Hearne created are strong, fun, and complex. The books are so well-written that they just draw you in and you believe. The interactions between the characters feels so genuine and sometimes had me howling with laughter! I love Oberon (Atticus' Irish Wolfhound, with whom he can speak telepathically) and the widow next door. The author has a gift with dialogue, world, and character building that will take him a long way. I will definitely read The Iron Druid Chronicles over and over again! Please pick up this series and let it captivate you, too! Great news, too! Book 4, Tricked, is due out in April 2012!!

The Iron Druid Chronicles Series: Clan Rathskeller (0.5), Kaibab Unbound (0.6), Hounded (1), Hexed (2), Hammered (3), A Test of Mettle (3.1), Tricked (4), Trapped (5), Hunted (6)

1 comment:

  1. i really need to read this series. Great summery!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...