Book Review: The 19 Dragons by: SM Reine

Rating: 4/5

Publisher: CreateSpace

Publish Date: July 8, 2011

Origins: From Author for Review

Format: E-book

Order From:  Amazon

Synopsis: There are nineteen provinces in the Land held aloft by nineteen pillars. Above the earth there is sky, and nobody knows what goes below except the Nineteen Dragons.

That is all you need to know, but that is not all there is to be known.

The Device has been stolen and the godlike Dragons have been rendered mortal. Someone is murdering them one by one, and each death brings the world closer to its end. Unless the the Device is somehow restored to its deceased owner, the Dragons are doomed to destruction-- and the human world will go with them.

Review: The 19 Dragons is a great novella with rich landscapes and characters. Vastly different from the author's previous work, Six Moon Summer, The 19 Dragons is a steampunk story with very fantastical elements. The Dragons are the gods of this world - they hold up the very land and seas by their existence. But when the Dragons start dying off, the world is in great peril. The rich history of each of the Dragons is interwoven with the fast-paced action of the present times. SM Reine is a consummate story-teller! As another person mentioned, The 19 Dragons seems like a bed-time story in the vein of The Neverending Story and The Princess Bride where the words unfold into pictures before your very eyes. I highly recommend this novella to anyone who enjoys steampunk and to anyone who enjoys passionate and thrilling storytelling!!



Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...