Book Review: Six Moon Summer by: SM Reine

Rating: 4/5

Publisher: CreateSpace

Publish Date: April 26, 2011

Origins: From Author for Review

Format: E-book

Order From:  Amazon / Barnes & Noble  

Synopsis: Rylie's parents are going through a messy divorce. They send her to summer camp to get her out of the way of their fighting lawyers, but she's just as miserable at the girls' camp as she was at home-- there's nothing vegetarian for her to eat at the mess hall, she hates hiking and archery, and the other campers taunt Rylie mercilessly. One night, the bullying goes too far, and Rylie runs away. She doesn't get far. It's a full moon, and she isn't alone in the forest. A wild animal mauls her. She's certain she won't survive. Instead of dying, she wakes up unharmed in her cabin the next morning. The only sign that something has changed are the healed scars on her chest, her increasingly keen senses, and her sudden craving for raw, bloody meat. A boy from the other camp seems to know what's happening to her, but Rylie isn't sure if she can trust herself with Seth. Rylie soon learns that she only has until the end of summer before she becomes just like the monster that attacked her: a man-eating werewolf hungry for human flesh. Unless she can find a cure, she's only six moons away from transforming forever and losing her life to the hunger...

Review: Six Moon Summer is not your typical werewolf story, which I was really glad to discover. The story and characters are a great fit for anyone who enjoys YA paranormal books. I would have loved to learn more about some of the secondary characters - hopefully in the next books! The descriptions of the settings were wonderful and you really feel like you're there. Once you start Six Moon Summer, you'll be hard-pressed to put it down! I did give it 4 Ravens because there is some character development that I think could have happened, but Ms. Reine has the talent and shows promise. I'm definitely going to read the following books in the series to see where Ms. Reine will lead us next...

Seasons of the Moon series: Six Moon Summer (1), All Hallows Moon (2), Long Night Moon (3), Gray Moon Rising (4)



Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...