Book Review: Black Wings by: Christina Henry



Publish Date:
November 30, 2010

From Publisher for Review

Mass Market Paperback

Order From: 
Amazon / Barnes & Noble

As an Agent of Death, Madeline Black is responsible for escorting the souls of the dearly departed to the afterlife. It’s a 24/7 job with a lousy benefits package.

Maddy’s position may come with magical abilities and an impressive wingspan, but it doesn’t pay the bills. And then there are her infuriating boss, tenant woes, and a cranky, popcorn-loving gargoyle to contend with.

Things are looking up, though, when tall, dark, and handsome Gabriel Angeloscuro agrees to rent the empty apartment in Maddy’s building. It’s probably just a coincidence that as soon as he moves in, demons appear on the front lawn. But when an unholy monster is unleashed upon the streets of Chicago, Maddy discovers powers she never knew she possessed. Powers linked to a family legacy of tarnished halos.

Powers that place her directly between the light of Heaven and the fires of Hell…

Review: Maddy's not having the time of her life - she's stuck doing a favor for her best friend and ends up with a headache and more paperwork, not to mention an ass-chewing from their boss, J.B. Then Gabriel Angeloscuro comes calling and her life goes to hell - literally! Demons are coming out of thin air, trying to kill her for reasons totally unknown to her, but not to Gabriel and Beezle (her guardian gargoyle). Maddy's got to learn quick about her legacy and powers  in order to survive the next few days intact.

I can sum up this book in one word - WOW!!! If you're tired of reading about werewolves and vampires (and even if you're not!), pick up Black Wings and find yourself in a whole new and exciting world. This is one of the most original stories I've read in a while. I love Maddy and Beezle! Maddy's got to master her new and ever-changing powers before it's too late for her and the rest of the world. She also needs to come to grips with her true heritage and what that means about herself. Will she find the strength to make a difference? Get a copy of Black Wings and find out!

Madeline Black series: Black Wings (1), Black Night (2), Black Howl (3), Black Lament (4)


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...