Book Review: Nightwalker by: Jocelynn Drake

Publisher: Eos
Publish Date: 29 July 2008

Origins: Purchased 

Format: Ebook 

Blurb: For centuries Mira has been a nightwalker—an unstoppable enforcer for a mysterious organization that manipulates earth-shaking events from the darkest shadows. But elemental mastery over fire sets her apart from others of her night-prowling breed . . . and may be all that prevents her doom.
The foe she now faces is human: the vampire hunter called Danaus, who has already destroyed so many undead. For Mira, the time has come to hunt . . . or be hunted.

Review in 5: Bad-Ass, Hot, Surprising, Dark, and Vampires

Review: I recently got the fifth book in this series and decided I need to start from the beginning of the series in order to truly appreciate book five. So…that is why I started this book and I was very very glad that I did. This book has that kick-ass, high speed action, thrill-ride feel. I couldn’t put it down from page one. I was actually quite surprised and amazed at how much I enjoyed this book.

I enjoyed the characters of this book immensely. They are all very vibrant and the type of characters that stick in your mind for a long time after reading. Mira is a kick ass vampire, Danaus is a kick-ass hmm…something (we don’t know yet) and the Naturi are seriously bad guys! I assume they are going to keep getting worse as the series progresses. I also noticed the nice heat that is starting to build between Mira and Danaus…a little Romeo/Juliet situation there.

The writing in this book is dark and broody, the normal kind that is consistent with a paranormal urban fantasy. There is some great imagery used throughout the story as Mira travels here there and everywhere to do everyones bidding. There is also a tiny bit of sensuality, enough to show the reader the author’s skill with sensuality and enough to tease you to read more of the series.

Finally, the plot in this book, as I said before, is pretty much a thrill-ride. You start reading and then get thrown head first on looping roller coaster of awesome. There is always something happening and always something you have to pay attention to. There are some great fights, some awesome sights, and some steamy men. Don’t miss out on this book.

Series: Dark Days Series: Nightwalker (1), Dayhunter (2), Dawnbreaker (3), Pray for Dawn (4), Wait for Dusk (5)
Copyright The Bibliophilic Book Blog 2009-2010
Subscribe with Bloglines Subscribe with Bloglines

1 comment:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...