Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review: Veracity by: Laura Bynum

Harper Adams was six years old in 2012 when an act of viral terrorism wiped out one-half of the country's population. Out of the ashes rose a new government, the Confederation of the Willing, dedicated to maintaining order at any cost. The populace is controlled via government-sanctioned sex and drugs, a brutal police force known as the Blue Coats, and a device called the slate, a mandatory implant that monitors every word a person speaks. To utter a Red-Listed, forbidden word is to risk physical punishment or even death.

But there are those who resist. Guided by the fabled "Book of Noah," they are determined to shake the people from their apathy and ignorance, and are prepared to start a war in the name of freedom. The newest member of this resistance is Harper -- a woman driven by memories of a daughter lost, a daughter whose very name was erased by the Red List. And she possesses a power that could make her the underground warriors' ultimate weapon -- or the instrument of their destruction.

In the tradition of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Laura Bynum has written an astonishing debut novel about a chilling, all-too-plausible future in which speech is a weapon and security comes at the highest price of all.

First things first, this book is not for the faint hearted or people with weak stomachs. This book gets into grizzly detail about a society who gave up its basic constitutional rights in exchange for safety from a disease. This book reminds me so much of V for Vendetta...just in America and grizzlier.

The characters are strong, and in this book you have to be strong or you die. Its just unfathomable what some of these characters went through in order to join the resistance and try and fight for their country and freedoms. Its crazy what Harper alone has endured to get her self where she is.

This book is dark and as I said a couple of times before, grizzly; it will make you think and consider you own place in the world. Which is a good thing, literature to make us use our brains. I enjoyed reading this book because of the vocabulary lesson, and the writing style, but I did not enjoy reading this book because I am not a dystopian book lover. So if you like dystopian literature then this book is perfect for you.

Received from: Publisher for review
For more information or for purchasing visit Laura Bynum's webpage.

I give this book 4/5 stars. ★ ★ ★ ★

To purchase:

Giveaway Time! *CONTEST CLOSED*

Monica S.

Copyright The Bibliophilic Book Blog 2009-2010


  1. Thanks for the review! I've been hearing a lot about this book lately, so I'll definitely have to check it out. I am a fan of dystopian novels, so I'm sure I'll like it.

  2. I haven't read a lot of dystopian novels, but my favorite so far is The Giver by Lois Lowry. This one sounds a bit scary, but it's really intriguing.

  3. I haven't read any of them yet so I can't say

  4. Starship Troopers, without a doubt. :)
    baileythebookworm @ gmail dot com

  5. Please count me in. Thanks for the chance.

    I am an old follower.

    My fav dystopian book is The City of Ember.

    lizzi0915 at aol dot com

  6. Hunger Games is my favorite dystopian! I can't wait for Book 3 in August!

  7. "seasoned" follower

    A Clockwork Orange..loved it.

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

  8. My favorite is The Forest of Hands and Teeth. Thnks for the giveaway!

  9. I am not sure if Cormac McCarthy's, "The Road" can be considered a strict dystopian novel but it sure had nihilistic elements especially since its setting is post-apocalyptic. I adored that book, it was painful & brilliant. Of dystopian classics, you can go wrong with 1984.

    +2 seasoned follower


  10. sorry, I meant you "can't" go wrong with 1984.

  11. My favourite dystopian novel is The Giver by Lois Lowry.

    It's the first dystopian that i've ever read, being assigned by an English professor when I was younger

  12. I would have to say The Chrysalids. I had to read it in grade 9 and I've been hooked ever since.

  13. This book looks quite interesting. As far as Dystopian novels go, I'd have to say The Hunger Games was one of my current favorites

  14. My favourite dystopian movie would have to be the Japanese movie Battle Royale.

  15. My favorite is The Giver by Lois Lowry

  16. I am not sure what a dystopian novel I do not have any favorites at this time.

  17. 1984, for sure.

    seasoned follower.. I think!

    Tracey D
    booklover0226 AT gmail DOT com


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...